//
you're reading...
mini break, sketching

How to take a break: sketching

Remember when you were a child: how you were able to completely lose yourself in whichever activity you were doing and forget about the time and forget about the rest of the world? Truth is: I don’t really remember clearly what it was like, but when I see my little nephew walking through the world and becoming totally absorbed by the things he does, just being completely there, I think: I wanna be able to do that, too!

And even though I say I don’t remember what this was like, I do have the vague notion that I once used to be capable of that. At least I was told that as a little girl I used to get very grumpy if somebody interrupted me when I was reading an exciting book. Nowadays it’s harder to find an activity that really captivates me. Whatever I do, even when reading, I always keep an eye on the time and in the back of my mind little reminders keep popping up: You still have to do this and that, you mustn’t forget…

Sketching, however, is something that sometimes – not always – manages to perform this little miracle. I forget about myself, when I’m concentrated on drawing my mind goes completely blank. And that’s great!
(Maybe this is because during drawing we use the non-verbal side of the brain as Betty Edwards says in her book Drawing on the right side of the brain.)

tasse20001

So here I am praising sketching, but actually I don’t do it that often. I keep wanting to do it on a regular basis, but then I usually come up with the old excuse: There’s no time, there are more important things that need to get done.

Today I did some sketching when I should have been cleaning up the apartment. (I’m proud of myself ;-))

tasse30001tasse40001

tasse1

Discussion

5 thoughts on “How to take a break: sketching

  1. I really can relate to that – sometimes drawing can perform that miracle for me too and that’s why I love it so much!

    Posted by Julia | 12. January 2014, 9:26 pm
  2. Awesome drawings, it’s so lovely to completely loose yourself in a piece of artwork. Happy future sketching :)

    Posted by vaudevillehippie | 12. January 2014, 9:50 pm
  3. Woww!!! I loved this! :) Your post really makes me want to see more from you. You might like to accept a Liebster Award, which is also a kind of writing challenge, so I’ve added you to my list of nominations. If you want to see more, check this post of mine: http://meebee2014.wordpress.com/2014/01/12/the-leibster-award/

    Posted by meebee | 12. January 2014, 10:21 pm
  4. Your sketches are very nice and would make great “pictures” for your blog posts! I wish I could draw, but my sister got all of that talent :)

    Posted by ldaffin | 12. January 2014, 11:35 pm
  5. Thank you all for the kind words. :-)

    Posted by mittagspausen | 15. January 2014, 9:21 pm

Leave a Reply

