//
you're reading...
life, sketching

The duck in the park must be photoshopped

Duck illustration

Duck illustration

Going for a walk in the park and looking at a male mallard duck with its shimmering green head, my first thought was: This duck looks like a children’s book illustration.
Then I quickly dismissed this premature thought and corrected myself, my next thought being: No, this looks much too photorealistic for a picture book illustration, this duck looks more like a photograph of a duck, but just look how marvelously the green head is shimmering, this duck must be photoshopped.

Similar to my cloud observations some time ago, I was once again caught off guard just by really looking at my surroundings. And I realized how messed up I have become by having seen so many movies and pictures, so many special effects, that I have become distrustful of what I see. If I see something that is too beautiful, I can’t help but think: This must be fake, this must be photoshopped, right?

So lately I have been trying to really look at what is actually in front of me a little more, instead of trying to fit everything into a prefit mold. And I’m trying to let go of the prefabricated images and prejudices that are already in my head.

(Ceci n’est pas une pipe. Mais ça, c’est un canard.)

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

